Presidents of India: List of all Presidents of India (Complete List pdf)

List of all Presidents of India
List of all Presidents of India

List of all Presidents of India: Recently Shri Draupadi Murmuji has taken over as the 15th President of India. She is the first person belonging to the tribal community and the second woman after Pratibha Patil to hold the President’s office.

But before that, 14 persons have taken over as the President of India. Do you know about his name and tenure? Did the answer no?

Don’t be wary in this post; we will share Information about all presidents and their tenure, so if you want to know all this Information, read the complete.

List of Presidents of Independent India:

Here is the list of all the 15 Presidents of India

No. LIst of President From To
1 Rajendra Prasad 26 January 1950 13 May 1962
2 Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13 May 1962 13 May 1967
3 Zakir Husain 13 May 1967 3 May 1969
- V. V. Giri (acting President) 3 May 1969 20 July 1969
- Mohammad Hidayatullah (acting President) 20 July 1969 24 August 1969
4 V. V. Giri 24 August 1969 24 August 1974
5 Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 24 August 1974 11 February 1977
- B. D. Jatti (acting President) 11 February 1977 25 July 1977
6 Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 25 July 1977 25 July 1982
7 Zail Singh 25 July 1982 25 July 1987
8 Ramaswamy Venkataraman 25 July 1987 25 July 1992
9 Shankar Dayal Sharma 25 July 1992 25 July 1997
10 K. R. Narayanan 25 July 1997 25 July 2002
11 A. P. J. Abdul Kalam 25 July 2002 25 July 2007
12 Pratibha Patil 25 July 2007 25 July 2012
13 Pranab Mukherjee 25 July 2012 25 July 2017
14 Ram Nath Kovind 25 July 2017 25 July 2022
15 Draupadi Murmu 25 July 2022 Current

The President of India: Eligibility, Powers and responsibilities

Eligibility for President of India:

 Conditions for a candidate to be eligible for the President’s election have been given below:

  • The Conditions should be a citizen of India.
  • The Conditions must be above the age of 35 years.
  • The Conditions should be qualified for election as a member of the Lok Sabha.
  • The Conditions of India should not contain any office of profit under the State Government, Union, and other local authorities.

Har Ghar Tiranga (हर घर तिरंगा)

EWS Certificate How To Apply

Caste Certificate Benefits

EDisha Registration

GeM Portal Registration

Booster Dose Registration

PM Kisan KYC, PM Kisan EKYC Online

The President of India Powers and responsibilities:

The President of India is the head of the Indian state and commander in chief of all the Indian Armed Forces. The President of India is indirectly elected by the members of both the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha and the legislative assemblies of India’s states and union territories. The President of India has been granted the responsibility and authority to protect the Constitution.

The Powers and responsibilities of President of India is givan below

Legislative powers enjoyed by the President of India:

  • The President has the power to dissolve the Lok Sabha.
  • A bill passed by both the houses of the parliament can become a law only if it receives the President. (subject to limitations)
  • The President of India can nominate 12 members to the Rajya Sabha who have made extraordinary accomplishments in science, art, literature, and social service.
  • The President has the power to send a bill back to the parliament unless it is a money bill or constitutional amendment bill.

Executive power enjoyed by the President of India:

  • The executive powers of the country are vested with the President of India.
  • The parliament can grant additional powers to the President if it deems fit, and the President can further delegate these powers to state governors.

Appointing powers and duties of the President

  • The President is responsible for appointing the Prime Minister of India.
  • The President of India appoints the Chief Justice.
  • The President is the state’s appointing authority and also has the power to dismiss a governor who has violated the constitution in their acts.
  • Besides the posts mentioned above, the President can appoint several positions, including, Ambassadors to other countries like IAS, IPS, IFS, Attorney General, etcetera.

Military powers of the President:

  • The President of India is the commander in chief of all the Indian armed forces.
  • The President can declare war or conclude peace with any country on the advice of a council of ministers headed by the Prime Minister.
  • All the treaties with any foreign countries are signed in the name of the President of India.

Power to pardon:

The President of the Republic of India has the power to grant pardons if the punishment of the crime is an offense against union law, granted by the military court, or the penalty is death.

President of India Salary benefits and perks:

  • President receives Rs 5 lakh as salary every month, which is non-taxable.
  •  He gets a custom-built heavily armored Mercedes Benz S600 (W221) Pullman Guard.
  • Accessible medical facilities, accommodation, and treatment.
  • Presidents’ spouses will also get secretarial assistance of Rs. 30,000 per month.
  • The president gets to travel free by train and plane anywhere in the world.

After retirement:

After their retirement, the President of India is entitled to numerous benefits. Some of them are:

  • A pension of Rs. 1.5 lakh per month
  • President’s spouses receive Rs. 30,000 per month in secretarial assistance.
  • One Fully Furnished and rent-free bungalow
  • Two fee landlines as well as a mobile phone
  • Five Personal employees- Annual Staff expenses of Rs. 60,000
  • Free train or air travel with a companion.

Presidents of India List- FAQs

Who was the first President of India?

Dr. Rajendra Prasad was the First President of India.

Who was the first woman President of India?

Pratibha tai Patil was the First woman President of India.

Who was the first tribal President of India?

Shri Draupadi Murmuji was the first tribal President of India

What is the Indian President’s salary?

President receives Rs 5 lakh as salary every month, which is non-taxable.

Who is the present president of India?

Draupadi Murmu is the present president of India.