What are NATO and its purpose? How many Countries are in NATO?

NATO Full Form: The full form of NATO is North Atlantic Treaty Organization. It is a military and political alliance of 28 countries.

The organization was formed  To protect the freedom and security of the member states. NATO was created for collective defence on 4 April 1949, meaning an attack on any of its member states would be viewed as an attack on all of its allies.

What is NATO?


NATO is North Atlantic Treaty Organization. It is a military and political alliance of 28 countries.

The primary objective of NATO is to protect and safeguard the independence of its member states. But it has had to expand its purpose in recent years with increasing references to violence and has agreed that it will also protect member states from cyberattacks, terrorism, and weapons of mass destruction.

NATO Member Countries:

NATO member countries include 2 North American countries, 27 European countries and 1 Eurasian country.

NATO Members Countries and Joining Date List:

NATO countriesJoining Date
Albania 2009
Belgium  1949
Bulgaria 2004
Canada   1949
Croatia 2009
Czech Republic 1999
Germany 1955
Greece 1952
Luxembourg  1949
Montenegro 2017
Netherlands 1949
North Macedonia 2020
Norway 1949
Poland 1999
Portugal 1949
Romania 2004
Slovakia 2004
Slovenia 2004
Spain 1982
Turkey 1952
The United Kingdom 1949
The United States 1949

NATO Partner Countries List:

  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Finland
  • Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
  • Ireland, Kazakhstan
  • Georgia
  • Kyrghyz Republic
  • Malta
  • The Republic of Moldova
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Ukraine
  • Uzbekistan

NATO membership is open to “any other European state in a position to further the principles of this Treaty and to contribute to the security of the North Atlantic area.”

Is Ukraine in NATO?

Notably, Ukraine is not currently a member of NATO, but it is a partner country. This means that there is an understanding between Ukraine and NATO that the country may join in the future.

Leave a Comment