Bharat Ratna: List of Recipients and interesting facts related to it.

 ‘ Bharat Ratna ‘ is the highest civilian award in India. It is given to outstanding personalities who have served the nation through remarkable and exceptional contributions in art, literature, science, social service, and sports. The first President of India, Dr. Rajendra Prasad, instituted ‘Bharat Ratna’ on 2 January 1954. 

Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan, Sir C.V. Raman, and Chakravarti Rajagopalachari were the first recipients of the Bharat Ratna Award in 1954.

The Prime Minister of India recommends names to the President for the award of Bharat Ratna. After which, this honor is given to that person by the President. Under this award, the recipient receives a Sanad (certificate) and a medal, signed by the President. The prize does not carry any monetary grant.

 Let us know some important facts related to this highest civilian honor of the country.

Bharat Ratna Design:

At present, the award is in the shape of a peepal leaf rimmed in platinum. It is approximately 59 mm long, 48 mm wide, and 3.2 mm thick. On the obverse side, the embossed sunburst design, made of platinum, has a diameter of 16 mm with rays spreading out from the center of the Sun. The words “Bharat Ratna” on the obverse side and “Satyameva Jayate” on the reverse side in Devanagari script, and the National Emblem on the reverse side remained the same. A 2-inch-wide white ribbon is attached to the medal so it can be worn around the neck.

List of Recipients of Bharat Ratna (1954-2022):

S.No. Name Year
1. C. Rajagopalachari 1954
2. Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
3. Dr. C. V. Raman
4. Dr. Bhagwan Das 1955
5. Dr. M. Visvesvaraya
6. Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru
7. Pt. Govind Ballabh Pant 1957
8. Dr. Dhondo Keshav Karve 1958
9. Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy 1961
10. Purushottam Das Tandon
11. Dr. Rajendra Prasad 1962
12. Dr. Zakir Husain 1963
13. Dr. Pandurang Vaman Kane
14. Lal Bahadur Shastri (Posthumous) 1966
15. Indira Gandhi 1971
16. V. V. Giri 1975
17. K. Kamaraj (Posthumous) 1976
18. Mother Teresa 1980
19. Acharya Vinoba Bhave (Posthumous) 1983
20. Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan 1987
21. M. G. Ramachandran (Posthumous) 1988
22. Dr. B. R. Ambedkar (Posthumous) 1990
23. Dr. Nelson Mandela
24. Rajiv Gandhi (Posthumous) 1991
25. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (Posthumous)
26. Morarji Desai
27. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (Posthumous) 1992
28. J. R. D. Tata
29. Satyajit Ray
30. Gulzarilal Nanda 1997
31. Aruna Asaf Ali
32. Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam
33. M. S. Subbulakshmi 1998
34. Chidambaram Subramaniam
35. Jayaprakash Narayan (Posthumous) 1999
36. Professor Amartya Sen
37. Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi (Posthumous)
38. Pandit Ravi Shankar
39. Lata Mangeshkar 2001
40. Ustad Bismillah Khan
41. Pandit Bhimsen Joshi 2009
42. Professor C. N. R. Rao 2014
43. Sachin Tendulkar
44. Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya (Posthumous) 2015
45. Atal Bihari Vajpayee
46. Pranab Mukherjee 2019
47. Bhupen Hazarika (Posthumous)
48. Nanaji Deshmukh (Posthumous)

List of all Indian States, Union Territories

List of Indian States Districts

Interesting facts about Bharat Ratna:

  • Every year, Bharat Ratna is given by the President of India on 26 January. 
  • Since 1954, 48 great personalities have been given this honour.
  • After receiving this award, the winner will be given the protocol by the President, Vice President, Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister, Chief Justice, Lok Sabha Speaker, Cabinet Minister, Governor, Chief Minister, former President, former Prime Minister, former Chief Minister, Leader of the Opposition in both the Houses of Parliament. After the place. The person receiving the honour is a VIP for the country.
  • There was no provision to give this honour posthumously, but it was changed in 1966.
  • the Bharat Ratna award doesn’t need to be given every year. It is up to the central government whether to give this honour or not.
  • Bharat Ratna can be given to a maximum of 3 persons in a year.
  • The award was suspended between 13 July 1977 and 26 January 1980.
  • In 2011, the players who achieved exceptional achievement in sports were included in the order of being awarded the Bharat Ratna.
  • Indira Gandhi was the first Indian woman to be awarded the Bharat Ratna.
  • Sachin Tendulkar was the youngest person to receive Bharat Ratna (age 40). while DK Karve was the oldest person to be awarded the Bharat Ratna, and he got this honour at the age of 100.
  • In 1992, the government’s decision to confer Bharat Ratna posthumously on Subhas Chandra Bose met with criticism due to controversy over his death. Following a 1997 Supreme Court decision, the award was cancelled. This was the first and only occasion when the award was announced but withdrawn.
  • There is no written provision regarding Bharat Ratna to be given only to Indian citizens.
  • In 1987, Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan, the first person of foreign origin, was awarded the Bharat Ratna. Nelson Mandela and Mother Teresa were also awarded the Bharat Ratna.
  • The person who receives Bharat Ratna gets VIP status equal to that of a cabinet minister.
  • Bharat Ratna recipients are exempted from paying income tax. Also, they can participate in the meetings and sessions of the Parliament.
  • They can also participate in Republic and Independence Day programs as special guests.
  • They are allowed free travel by plane, train or bus.
  • If a person honoured with Bharat Ratna goes to visit any state, he gets a state guest’s status.
  • According to Article 18(1) of the Constitution of India, awardees cannot use ‘Bharat Ratna’ as a prefix or suffix to their name. However, they can add ‘Bharat Ratna Awarded by the President’ or ‘Bharat Ratna Awardee’ in their resume, visiting card, letterhead etc.